Council for Museum Anthropology Book Award

The Council for Museum Anthropology Book Award was created to recognize and promote excellence in museum anthropology. The award is awarded biennially to a scholar within the field of museum anthropology for a solo, co- or multi-authored book published up to two years prior to the award date. Edited books will not be considered. The CMA Book award will be given to the author(s) whose work is judged to be a significant and influential contribution to museum anthropology. The winner will receive a $500 cash award. Books that did not receive the award but are considered exceptional will receive honorable mentions at the award ceremony at the AAA meetings.

NOMINATION PROCEDURES:  To nominate a book, please send a signed letter of nomination to the chair of the selection committee (Joshua A. Bell, Only individuals, not organizations or publishers, are eligible to nominate books for the CMA Book Award. The letter of nomination should speak to the impact of the book on the field of museum anthropology and needs to be by a current CMA member. Self-nomination is not permitted, and works must have an accompanying letter of nomination to be considered. Please arrange to have the publisher send a copy of the book directly to each member of the Selection Committee (see names and addresses below). Books must be received by the deadline of June 15th. Applicants will be notified in October as to the results.

Joshua A. Bell (Chair). Department of Anthropology (MRC 112), National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution, PO Box 37012, Washington, DC 20013-7012

Hannah Turner.  1325 Chestnut Street, Vancouver BC v6j3k1
Adrian Van Allen.  Département de la recherche, Musée du quai Branly, 7 Rue Linné, Paris 75005, France

William W. Wood.  Department of Anthropology, University of  Wisconsin -Milwaukee, P.O. Box  413, Milwaukee, WI 53201